Extension and Advisory Services


The section provides extension support services to the fishermen and general public at ground level in all four [4] administrative divisions [Central, Northern, Eastern & Western].

Western administrative boundary includes Sigatoka, Nadi, Lautoka, Ba, Tavua and Rakiraki with a fisheries station based in all districts except Nadi. 

Eastern administrative boundary includes Lami, Levuka, Lakeba and Kadavu.

Northern administrative boundary consists of Labasa, Savusavu, Nabouwalu, Lekutu and Taveuni.

Central administrative boundary encompasses Navua, Suva, Nausori (Wainibokasi/ Laqere), Korovou.

This role is carried out through providing technical advisory services, issuing fishing licenses, ensuring enforcement of fisheries laws through regular sea and land patrols, conducting ice sales and maintaining the ice plants, processing project appraisal and documentation for financial assistance requests from fishermen, participating in provincial, tikina, district, village and fishermen meetings.